Architects

All our Gods have abandoned us!
This is the great esoteric depression.
We sold our souls but couldn’t buy salvation.
I found God clutching a razor blade.
He said:
“Look at the fucking mess they’ve made.
They’d trade their hearts if they were made of gold.”

Architects are a British metalcore band from Brighton, England.

architects_press-photo-2_jon-weiner

Members:

  • Dan Searle – drums, programming (2004–present)
  • Alex Dean – bass guitar (2006–2011, 2011–present)
  • Sam Carter – vocals (2007–present)
  • Adam Christianson – rhythm guitar (2015–present; touring 2012, 2014–2015)
  • Tom Searle – lead guitar, keyboards (2004–2016; died 2016) (Wikipedia)

On 20 August 2016, founding guitarist Tom Searle died at the age of 28, after living for three years with melanoma skin cancer.

I love you more than words will ever be able to explain.

tumblr_oca5uknBU71v9hp9ao1_540.png

I’ve thought long and hard about the words I can use to describe my love for my beautiful friend Tom. To put it simply, I wouldn’t be the person I am today without the love and care he showed me.

I will always remember the times we spent together, in particular listening back to songs in the studio/your bedroom and smiling at each other and really knowing our connection.

I feel utterly lost without you. Having had the pleasure of standing next to you on stage for ten or so years it’s hard to imagine not looking around and seeing you there smiling back at us.

Thank you for all the lessons you taught us and our friendship group throughout your life and there won’t be a second that goes by where I’m not thinking about you and wishing you were here.
To be the voice for his words and songs is something I feel and will always feel incredibly grateful for.
My idol my friend my brother.
I will always love you ❤️ “You can’t hang on to yourself. You don’t have to try not to hang on to yourself. It can’t be done, and that is salvation. ‘Memento Mori’ – ‘be mindful of death’.”

-Sam David Carter(source)

Rest in peace wherever you are, amazing man and, as the guys from Parkway Drive said,  “Thank you for sharing your life with us Tom.”.

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

